ALMA — The Alma College Model United Nations team followed up on an impressive performance at its regional championship in February with a stellar outing at the national competition.

The Model UN team competed at the 2023 National Model UN Conference in April in New York City and received three “outstanding delegation” awards for its representations of Cameroon, Chad and the Philippines, along with numerous individual accolades. The national conference is considered the world’s largest and most prestigious collegiate Model UN competition, with more than 5,500 students representing 250 colleges and universities from 151 countries on five continents.

“Alma’s young, talented, internationally diverse team — including students from Great Britain, Greece, India, Kosovo, Morocco, Poland, Russia, South Korea and Tunisia — contributed to one of the highest-quality conferences in recent memory, collaborating with students from around the world to address pressing global challenges,” said Derick “Sandy” Hulme, Arthur L. Russell Professor of Political Science and MUN advisor.

A full list of winners is below:


Cameroon delegation:

Marwa Assiad, Morocco
Syrine Ben Driss, Tunisia
Elsa Dupon, Shelby Township
Jackson Eelbode, Macomb
Abigail Haag, Midland
Lucas Hartwell, Grand Blanc
Ichrak Labidi, Tunisia
Emily Lanning, Cincinnati, OH
Chloe Koupal, Houghton Lake
Helena Kucera, White Lake
Luke Losie, Farmington Hills
Angela Mish, Grand Rapids
Chloe Pace, Dearborn Heights
Robert Preni, Westland
Gabe Roof, Grand Blanc
Madison Ryan, Rio Rancho, NM
Aditya Shankar, India
Abigail Thomas, Grand Rapids
Elizabeth Vredevelt, Alto
Jack Yodzevicis, Gaylord

Chad delegation:

Oussama Abouyahia, Morocco
Sasha Kiper, Russia
Yassine Kraiem, Tunisia
Filippos Mourikis, Greece
Karolina Pucek, Germany

Philippines delegation:

Chloe Anderson, Washington, MI
Liudmila Budaragina, Russia
Kianna Carpenter, Traverse City
Khalil Chalouati, Tunisia
Anna Fedorova, Russia
Mallory Fenskie, Midland
Regina Galeeva, Russia
Madison Hall, Greenville
Mariem Hamdi, Tunisia
Sebin Im, South Korea
Jacob Keeley, Linden
Angelina Kytmanova. Russia
Toby Layson, Washington, MI
Claire Neeb, Newberry
Taylor Neeb, Weidman
Emily Patzkowsky, Mattawan
Sandra Voskoboynikova, Russia
Maria Vostrizansky, DeWitt


Kianna Carpenter
Mallory Fenskie
Madison Hall
Mariem Hamdi
Angelina Kytmanova
Taylor Neeb
Aditya Shankar
Abigail Thomas


Chloe Anderson
Marwa Assiad
Liudmila Budaragina
Khalil Chalouati
Anna Fedorova
Mallory Fenskie
Regina Galeeva
Madison Hall
Lucas Hartwell
Chloe Koupal
Ichrak Labidi
Angela Mish
Claire Neeb
Chloe Pace
Robert Preni
Gabe Roof
Madison Ryan
Jack Yodzevicis