Faculty Honors & Recognition

Annual Awards

Andison Awards for Excellence in Teaching

The Andison Awards, supported by a gift from Thomas Andison, began in 2010 and recognize excellence in teaching through pedagogical innovation, creative activities with students, and superior teaching. Faculty members nominate their colleagues for the award, and the president selects the recipients, who each receive a $1,000 cash grant.

2021 Andison Award Recipients

  • Matthew Cicci Matthew Cicci, an assistant professor of English, was the untenured recipient of the Andison Award for Excellence in Teaching for 2021.

  • Morgan Fonley Morgan Fonley, an associate professor of mathematics, was the tenured recipient of the Andison Award for Excellence in Teaching for 2021.

Past honorees

Barlow Awards for Faculty Excellence

The Barlow Awards, first presented in 1982, recognize faculty members for excellence in teaching, scholarly or creative work, and college and community service. Recipients receive $1,000 cash grants. Recipients are nominated by faculty, administrators, alumni and student Barlow Trophy nominees and reviewed by the Faculty Personnel and the Barlow Award committees. The president selects the awardees.

2021 Faculty Barlow Award Recipients

  • Bob Cunningham Bob Cunningham, a professor of economics, was one of the Faculty Barlow Award recipients for 2021.

  • Victor Argueta-Diaz Victor Argueta-Diaz, assistant professor of physics, was one of the Faculty Barlow Award recipients for 2021.

Past honorees

Endowed Professorships and Chairs

William R. Angell Professorship of Biology

Established by the Angell Foundation to honor the late William R. Angell, this award recognizes excellence in teaching and productive research. Currently held by Dr. John Rowe, biology.

Charles A. Dana Professorships

A grant from the Charles A. Dana Foundation established four endowed professorships in 1972 (a fifth was added later). These awards recognize outstanding teacher-scholars. Currently held by: Dr. Karen Ball, integrative physiology and health science; Dr. Britt Cartrite, political science; Dr. David Clark, biology; and Dr. Murray Gross, music.

Elma C. and Wesley C. Dykstra Professorship

Established by the late Wesley C. Dykstra, professor emeritus of philosophy, this endowed professorship is to be awarded to a faculty member for the Philosophy and Art and Design departments or other discipline within the humanities. The criteria for award include distinguished record of teaching, scholarship and service as well as a profound commitment to the liberal arts. Currently held by Dr. Nicholas Dixon, philosophy.

Dr. Gunda S. Kaiser Endowed Spanish Professorship

Established during the 2018-19 academic year to enhance a faculty position in the Modern Languages Department, the professorship honors the late Dr. Gunda S. Kaiser, who was professor of Spanish from 1958-1988. Currently held by Dr. Deborah Dougherty, Spanish.

Reid-Knox Chair of American History

Established in 1992 from the estates of Frank and Annie Reid Knox, alumni from the 1890s, the chair recognizes excellence in teaching and scholarship in the field of American history. Currently held by Dr. Liping Bu, history.

Paul Cameron Russell Endowed Music Professorship

Established in 2006 by Dr. Jack Sanders [M.D.] ’29, in honor of the late Dr. Paul Cameron Russell who was professor of music from 1961-1988. Currently held by David Zerbe, music.

Russell Professorship of Political Science

Excellence in teaching defines the criteria the late Arthur L. Russell ’41 of Harlingen, Texas, wanted to note in the recipient of this professorship. Currently held by Dr. Derick “Sandy” Hulme, political science.

Secrest Professorship of Music

Established in 1993, this award was funded by former Board of Trustees chair Fred Secrest and his wife, Stephanie. The professorship acknowledges excellence in performing arts teaching and in outstanding direction of student performance activities. Currently held by Dr. William Nichols, music.

Towsley Professorship of Chemistry

This endowed professorship was established in 1987 by the Harry A. and Margaret D. Towsley Foundation of Ann Arbor, Mich. The award recognizes excellence in the teaching of chemistry. Currently held by Dr. Melissa Strait, chemistry.

Past honorees