Section Leader(s)

Anthropology

Zoe Zaroff, zoezaroff@gmail.com 
Misgana Kurban, mwkurban@gmail.com 
 
Biochemistry/Molecular Biology

Aleksandra Kuzmanov, akuzmanov@ltu.edu 
Nadia Saadat, saadatn@umich.edu 

Botany & Plant Ecology

David L. Dornbos, Jr., dld9@calvin.edu

Business and Administration 

Kristen Conte, kristen.conte@baker.edu 
Steven Harrast, harra1sa@cmich.edu  

Chemistry

Lisa Ahlberg, lahlberg@andrews.edu 

Communication

Serge Danielson-Francois, sdanielso@ltu.edu

Computers

Aby Tehranipour, atehranip@emich.edu

Economics

Soo K. Sieber, sieber@oakland.edu

Education

Amy Parker, amychristineparker1@gmail.com

Engineering

Timothy Stiles, tstiles@kettering.edu

Environmental Science & Ecology

No section leader, please contact the Academy if interested.

French & Italian Language & Literature

Mandeta Gjata, aw7002@wayne.edu

Geography

Fred Sunderman, fwsunder@svsu.edu

Geological Sciences

Kevin Kincare, kkincare@usgs.gov

Health & Human Services

Delbert M. (Marty) Raymond II, Marty.Raymond@emich.edu

History

Eric M. Washington, emw23@calvin.edu

Interdisciplinary Studies

Deirdre Hennebury, deirdre@umich.edu

Language & Literature

Maureen Thum, mthum@umflint.edu

Law

Julie Granthen, granthen1@att.net

Library & Information Sciences

Arlene Weismantel, weisman1@msu.edu
Suzi Teghtmeyer, teghtmey@msu.edu 

Linguistics

Derek Drake, dpdrake@gmail.com
German Zarate-Sandez, german.zarate-sandez@wmich.edu 

Mathematics

Matt Johnston, mjohnsto1@ltu.edu 

Microbiology

Julie Zwiesler-Vollick, jzwiesler@ltu.edu 

Philosophy

Boris Turner, borisduvaul57@gmail.com

Physics

Bhujyo Bhattacharya, bbhattach@ltu.edu  

Political Science

Malek Abduljaber, malikfayez@gmail.com

Psychology

Harvey Burnett, harveyb@andrews.edu

Religious Studies

Jack Kilcrease, jdk002@aquinas.edu
Reem Abou, reem.abou@gmail.com

Rhetoric & Composition

Vivian Kao, vkao@ltu.edu 

Sociology

Colleen Wilson-Rood, wilson-roodca@alma.edu

Spanish Language, Literature & Culture

Maribel Colorade-Garcia, mcolorad@svsu.edu

Women’s & Gender Studies

P. Maya Dora-Laskey, dora-laskepm@alma.edu 

Zoology

Gary Lange, gmlange@svsu.edu


For questions about appropriate topics, presentation types, presentation lengths, etc. please contact the appropriate section chair(s). General questions about the abstract submission process, conference registration fees, individual membership etc. can be directed to the Michigan Academy staff at michiganacademy@alma.edu or (989) 463-7969.