Section Leader(s)

Anthropology

Alma Cortez-Alvarex, anc99@cornell.edu  
Kassidy Homolka, homolka1kr@alma.edu  
 
Biochemistry/Molecular Biology

Nadia Saadat, saadatn@umich.edu 
Pei-Lan Tsou, tsoup@gvsu.edu 

Botany & Plant Ecology

David L. Dornbos, Jr., dld9@calvin.edu

Business and Administration 

Steven Harrast, harra1sa@cmich.edu  

Chemistry

Ryan Hayes, hayes@andrews.edu 

Communication

Sara Potter, sapoggie@nmu.edu 
Robert McTyre, robert.mctyre@arbor.edu 

Computers

Aby Tehranipour, atehranip@emich.edu

Economics

Soo K. Sieber, sieber@oakland.edu

Education

Borders Henry-Saturne, bordes@andrews.edu 

Engineering

No section leader, please contact the Academy if interested.

Environmental Science & Ecology

Jeff Lake, jlake@adrian.edu 

French & Italian Language & Literature

Mandeta Gjata, aw7002@wayne.edu

Geography

Fred Sunderman, fwsunder@svsu.edu

Geological Sciences

Randall Shaetzl, soils@msu.edu 

Health & Human Services

Lihua Dishman, ldish888@aol.com 

History

Eric M. Washington, emw23@calvin.edu

Interdisciplinary Studies

Deirdre Hennebury, deirdre@umich.edu

Language & Literature

Robert Lamphear, rllamphear@gmail.com 

Law

Julie Granthen, granthen1@att.net

Library & Information Sciences

Arlene Weismantel, weisman1@msu.edu
Suzi Teghtmeyer, teghtmey@msu.edu 

Linguistics

Derek Drake, dpdrake@gmail.com
German Zarate-Sandez, german.zarate-sandez@wmich.edu 

Mathematics

Matt Johnston, mjohnsto1@ltu.edu
Anthony Bosman, bosman@andrews.edu  

Microbiology

Julie Zwiesler-Vollick, jzwiesler@ltu.edu 

Philosophy

Boris Turner, borisduvaul57@gmail.com

Physics

Bhujyo Bhattacharya, bbhattach@ltu.edu  

Political Science

No section leader, please contact the Academy if interested.

Psychology

Harvey Burnett, harveyb@andrews.edu

Religious Studies

Jack Kilcrease, jdk002@aquinas.edu
Reem Abou, reem.abou@gmail.com

Rhetoric & Composition

Anthony DeGenaro, degenaan@udmercy.edu 
Vivian Kao, vkao@ltu.edu 

Sociology

Colleen Wilson-Rood, wilson-roodca@alma.edu

Spanish Language, Literature & Culture

Maribel Colorade-Garcia, mcolorad@svsu.edu

Women’s & Gender Studies

P. Maya Dora-Laskey, dora-laskepm@alma.edu 

Zoology

Gary Lange, gmlange@svsu.edu


For questions about appropriate topics, presentation types, presentation lengths, etc. please contact the appropriate section chair(s). General questions about the abstract submission process, conference registration fees, individual membership etc. can be directed to the Michigan Academy staff at michiganacademy@alma.edu or (989) 463-7969.