Model UN Team ‘Outstanding’ For 23rd Straight Year

Alma College teams have won 43 “outstanding” awards at the Midwest Regional Model UN Conference since 1994.

For the 23rd straight year, Alma College students received top honors at the Midwest Model United Nations Conference.

Competing Feb. 10-13 in St. Louis, Mo., the Alma team representing the country of Zimbabwe received “outstanding delegation” recognition, the highest award at the conference. In addition, the Alma team representing Costa Rica received an honorable mention.

More than 600 students representing 80 delegations from colleges and universities throughout the Midwest participated in the conference.

Alma College teams have won 43 “outstanding” awards at the Midwest Regional since 1994.

“Our first-time Model UN participants turned in excellent performances while our veteran students provided effective leadership,” says Sandy Hulme, faculty coordinator of Model UN at Alma College.

Alma advances to the National Model UN Conference March 27-31 in New York City. Alma has won top honors at the national conference for 19 consecutive years — the longest active winning streak in the nation.

Model UN attempts to replicate the real United Nations in a competitive manner. Teams of college students take on identities of countries, and delegates from each country meet in committee to propose, discuss and debate topics relevant to issues facing the world community. Once resolutions are completed in committee, they are presented to the Model UN replication of the UN general assembly to be further debated before the assembly votes on resolutions.

“Outstanding Delegation” members representing Zimbabwe:

  • Luke Ashton, Omaha, Neb., senior
  • Luke Condon, Colon senior
  • Hannah Tardiff, Plymouth freshman
  • Jaycee Wise, Grand Haven freshman

“Honorable Mention” members representing Costa Rica:

  • Alana DuLyn, Clarkston senior
  • Kennedy MacGirr, Frankfort sophomore
  • Connor Mayer, Interlochen freshman
  • Beau Wilcox, Vanderbilt sophomore

“Honorable Mention” individual delegate recognition:

  • Kennedy MacGirr, Frankfort sophomore
  • Beau Wilcox, Vanderbilt sophomore
Story published on February 16, 2016