Staff Honored with Presidential Awards for Excellence

Alan Crowley, Justin Fonley, Maria Jones, Pete Ragsdale and Brenda Shafley are commended for their professionalism, efficiency, dedication and contributions to campus.

From left: Justin Fonley, Brenda Shafley, Alan Crowley, Maria Jones. From left: Justin Fonley, Brenda Shafley, Alan Crowley, Maria Jones.

Alma College recognized five individuals with Presidential Awards for Excellence at the 2019 Awards and Recognition Reception for Staff.

This year’s award recipients were selected for recognition in five categories:

  • Alan Crowley, director of enterprise information systems, Information Technology Services, was the recipient for the “contributions to Alma College” category.
  • Justin Fonley, technical support specialist, Information Technology Services, was the award recipient for the “serving as a role model for the campus community” category.
  • Maria Jones, director of career coaching, Center for Student Opportunity, and Bruske Hall director, was the “professionalism” category recipient.
  • Pete Ragsdale, custodian, Facilities and Services Management, was the award recipient for the “dedication” category.
  • Brenda Shafley, administrative assistant, Planning and Communication, was the “efficiency” category recipient.

Pete Ragsdale Pete RagsdaleFaculty and staff members nominate non-faculty colleagues for final selection by the president’s cabinet. The award winners each received an engraved plaque and $250 award.

Crowley was nominated for his competency and work contributions that improve student services, including his creation of a report repository that allows for easy data access from Colleague, Alma’s campus-wide enterprise database system.

Fonley was nominated for his technical knowledge and ability to work with those who are less technically adept as well as for being positive, friendly, helpful and available to offices that need IT support or assistance in addressing unexpected computer problems.

Jones was nominated for setting a good example for her colleagues in the student affairs office, her organization and communication skills, her professional interactions with faculty, staff and students, and for being easily-approachable.

Ragsdale was nominated for always going “above and beyond” in helping students and staff, ensuring that events in the Hogan Center are set up correctly, and regularly attending athletic events and supporting student-athletes.

Shafley was nominated for the quality, accuracy and timeliness of her work as well as for her organization skills, attention to detail, and being conscientious that all items that come from the president’s office are reflections of the president and institution.

Outstanding Commitment to Service

Ashley Johnson, head coach for women’s lacrosse, was recognized with the Outstanding Commitment to Service Award, which is given annually to staff members who go beyond their Alma College commitments to be active volunteers in the community.

Johnson was recognized for scheduling winter break trips and volunteer service activities around lacrosse competitions and planning volunteer service in each community the team visits — this year in West Virginia and Indianapolis. Her student-athletes also rake leaves, serve meals at the Hope House, support Relay for Life, participate in social events at the Masonic Home and more.

Length of Service Awards

Many Alma College employees received Length of Service Awards

40 years

  • Susan Beckett, Library

35 years

  • Mark Bunce, Academic Affairs

30 years

  • Angela Sherwood, Human Resources

25 years

  • Julie Elenbaas, Center for Student Opportunity
  • David Dickman, Facilities

20 years

  • Linda Collins, Mail and Print Center
  • Melissa Hovey, Library
  • Danny Pratt, Facilities

15 years

  • Larry Elliott, Information Technology Services
  • Kathleen Sommerville, Human Resources
  • Ron Zemcik, Facilities

10 years

  • Anneliese Fox, Center for Student Opportunity
  • Scott Dennison, Facilities
  • Anne Lambrecht, Wilcox Medical Center
  • Joseph Rodriguez, Facilities
  • Cynthia Wendzel, Heritage Center

5 years

  • Shelly Buschle, Admissions
  • Matthew Chovanec, Athletics
  • Meghan Gorsuch, Athletics
  • Steven Jones, Facilities
  • Krystal Kelly, Advancement
  • Christina Snoblen, Facilities
  • John MacArthur, Institutional Research
Story published on June 05, 2019