Faculty Appointed to Endowed Professorships

Deborah Dougherty and Murray Gross have been named Charles A. Dana Professors.

Alma College faculty members Deborah Dougherty and Murray Gross have been named Charles A. Dana Professors in recognition of their consistent record of teaching, research, service and commitment to the liberal arts.

Deborah DoughertyDeborah DoughertyDougherty, professor of Spanish, has taught at Alma since 1996. She teaches courses in advanced composition and Spanish literature, and her research focuses on the analysis of 17th-century Spanish literature and literary translation. She has a Ph.D. in Spanish from Michigan State University.

Gross, professor of music, has taught at Alma since 2004. He teaches courses in contemporary music theory, composition and world music and has composed numerous works that have been performed in concerts at venues across the country. He has a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Michigan State University.

Murray GrossMurray GrossThe Charles A. Dana Professorship started in 1972 with four professorships, with two more added later. They are endowed by the Charles A. Dana Foundation, created by Charles Dana, a New York state legislator with interests in arts education, brain science and immunology. The professorship honors faculty who are creative teachers, engage their students, develop innovative programs and courses, and produce excellent scholarship.


Alma College
Endowed Professorships and Chairs

William R. Angell Professorship
John Rowe, chair and professor of biology

Charles A. Dana Professorships
Karen Ball, professor of integrative physiology and health science
Kate Blanchard, professor of religious studies
David Clark, professor of biology
Deborah Dougherty, professor of Spanish
Joanne Gilbert, professor of communication
Murray Gross, professor of music

Elma C. and Wesley C. Dykstra Professorship
Nicholas Dixon, professor of philosophy

Reid-Knox Chair of American History
Liping Bu, professor of history

Secrest Professorship
William Nichols, professor of music

Russell Professorship of Political Science
Derick “Sandy” Hulme, professor of political science

Towsley Professorship of Chemistry
Melissa Strait, professor of chemistry

Paul Cameron Russell Professorship of Music
David Zerbe, professor of music

Story published on April 24, 2019