Seniors Earn Academic, Service, Leadership Awards

The accomplishments of Alma’s graduating seniors were recognized at the 2019 Senior Dinner.

From left: Holly Zuiderveen, Kaitlyn Ball, Abbie Richardson, President Jeff Abernathy.From left: Holly Zuiderveen, Kaitlyn Ball, Abbie Richardson, President Jeff Abernathy.

Outstanding Senior Award

Kaitlyn Ball of Arlington Heights, Ill., Abbie Richardson of Elwell and Holly Zuiderveen of Falmouth received the Outstanding Senior Awards, given annually to the graduating seniors with the highest grade-point average.

Outstanding Community Engagement Award

Erin Goggins of Hastings received the 2019 Outstanding Community Engagement Award. She was recognized for her service at community events and for her participation in seven national Alternative Breaks during her time at Alma, both as a site leader and participant. Her experiences serving in the national parks influenced her path toward environmental science and education.

In addition, the Rotaract Club was recognized for community service contributions.

Barlow Trophy winner Sophia Richter with members of her family.Barlow Trophy winner Sophia Richter with members of her family.Honors Program Recipients

The following students received honors designation for successfully completing all requirements of the Presidential Honors Program:

  • Brianna Fitzpatrick of Onaway
  • Cheyenne Kalfsbeek of Walkerville
  • Lauren Kucharczyk of Livonia
  • Katherine Lehman of Haslett
  • Brooke Mason of Marshall
  • Brian May of Frankenmuth
  • Keara Parker of Hudsonville

Faculty Receive Recognition at Honors Day

Alma College seniors recognized Dana Aspinall, Murray Borrello and Daniel Wasserman with Outstanding Faculty Awards. The recipients are chosen by a vote of the senior class, with one recognized in each of the college’s academic divisions.

Aspinall, associate professor of English, was the recipient for the humanities division.

Borrello, instructor of environmental studies, was the recipient for the natural sciences division.

Wasserman, assistant professor of history, was the recipient for the social sciences division.

Story published on April 24, 2019