National Model UN Winning Streak Extends to 23 Years

Alma College has now won 45 “outstanding delegation” awards — more than any college or university in the 92-year history of the conference.

Delegates cast votes on a UN resolution. Delegates cast votes on a UN resolution.
The winning streak continues. For the 23rd consecutive year, Alma College students captured the highest awards at the National Model United Nations Conference.

Competing March 24-28 in New York City, Alma College teams representing the countries of Djibouti, Egypt and Jamaica each received “outstanding delegation” recognition, the highest award at the conference.

Alma College has now won 45 “outstanding delegation” awards — more than any college or university in the 92-year history of the conference, which began as the Model League of Nations.

“No other school has ever received three ‘outstanding delegation’ awards at a single national conference, and we have done it four times,” says Derick Hulme, Alma’s Model UN faculty advisor. “It was an historic performance by our students.

“Our team was led by an extremely talented and committed group of veteran students who were joined by an enthusiastic and energetic group of first-year students,” says Hulme. “This year’s team also was our most international — we had two exchange students from Russia, one from China and five students from India.”

The national conference in New York is the largest and most prestigious collegiate Model UN competition in the world, with more than 5,500 students representing 250 colleges and universities from 151 countries on five continents.

Model UN simulates actual UN bodies addressing the most diverse range of current international issues. Teams of college students take on identities of countries, and delegates from each country meet in committee to propose, discuss and debate topics. Once resolutions are completed in committee, they are presented to the Model UN replication of the UN General Assembly to be further debated before the assembly votes on resolutions.


Representing Djibouti:
Austin Barajas, Holland junior
Hannah Chrome, Mason sophomore
*Rose Cyburt, St. Clair Shores junior
*Brenden Forster, Lapeer first-year student
Nathaniel Fryer, Wyoming senior
*Alyssa Gibson, Woodstock, Ill, first-year student
Jadon House, Brighton junior
Kennedy MacGirr, Frankfort junior
Brendan Murdie, Novi first-year student
Keara Parker, Hudsonville senior
*Maria Ruedisueli, Marshall sophomore
Aditya Shankar, international student from India
Tanvi Sharma, Saginaw junior
Eleanor Smith, Troy first-year student
#Madison Swope, Jackson junior
Emily Wood, Midland first-year student

Representing Egypt:
*Laney Alvarado, Bath junior
*Madison Amlotte, Alpena junior
Karina Ankrom, Bloomfield Hills junior
*Cassidy Beach, Pinckney sophomore
Tianyu Chen, international student from China
*Lauren Dempz, Berlin first-year student
Atulya Dora-Laskey, Lansing junior
Anna Eaton, Edwardsburg senior
*Megan Finkbeiner, Hamburg senior
*Bridget Flanery, Sparta junior
Elizabeth Flatoff, Highland junior
*Sarah Gaines, Colorado Springs first-year student
*Destiny Herbers, Roscommon sophomore
*Danny Lynch, Caledonia junior
*Connor Mayer, Traverse City senior
Molly McFadden, New Carlisle, Ind., junior
Prarthita Nath, international student from India
*Sam Nelson, Grand Haven junior
Sean Pauley, Grand Rapids sophomore
Brittany Pierce, Leslie sophomore
*Aubrey Root, Midland sophomore
Bennett Schmitt, Alma senior
*Anna Shokina, international student from Russia
#Rakkshet Singhaal, international student from India
*#Caroline Smerdon, Livonia junior
#Grace Smith, Frankenmuth sophomore
*#Abbey Swanson, Bay City sophomore
*Hannah Tardiff, Plymouth senior
Beau Wilcox, Williamsburg senior
Jaycee Wise, Grand Haven senior

Representing Jamaica:
Maris Fett, Owosso first-year student
Nino Lazariia, international student from Russia
MacKenzie Hetzler, Utica first-year student
Sophia Payne, Grosse Ile first-year student
Navya Prakash, international student from India
Vyom Upreti, international student from India

* Students who received “outstanding individual” recognition
# Students who received “outstanding writing submission” recognition

Story published on April 01, 2019