Seniors Earn Academic, Service, Leadership Awards

Several students received honors for academic and campus leadership achievement at Alma College’s 2018 senior dinner.

Aaron Daggett, Naria Ford-Thompson Aaron Daggett, Naria Ford-ThompsonOutstanding Senior Award

Shannon Kievet of Lewiston received the Outstanding Senior Award, given annually to the graduating senior with the highest grade-point average.

Outstanding Senior Leadership and Service Award

Aaron Daggett of Sidney and Naria Ford-Thompson of Gwinn received the 2018 Outstanding Senior Leadership and Service Award. Daggett was recognized for his service with local animal rescue agencies, while Ford-Thompson was honored for her involvement with Colleges Against Cancer and Relay for Life.

Students are nominated for the award by students, faculty and staff, and a committee selects the finalists and award winners.

In addition, the Chemistry Club and women’s lacrosse team were recognized for community service activities.

Shannon Kievet Shannon KievetPresidential Honors Program Recipients

The following students received honors designation for successfully completing all requirements of the Presidential Honors Program:

  • Dalia Barghouty of Rochester
  • Krista Botting of Ionia
  • Tyessa Brown of Bad Axe
  • Paige Daniel of Waterford
  • Seth Davis of Shepherd
  • Austin Desmarais of Harbor Springs
  • Abigail Fergus of Holland
  • Kaydee Hall of Alma
  • Emma Herron of Midland
  • Hannah Jeffrey of Highland
  • Bergen Jome of Bloomington, Ill.
  • Ashley Ann Mattson of Gwinn
  • Eric Rohde of White Lake
  • Lauren Sabuda of Mount Pleasant

Faculty Receive Recognition at Honors Day

Alma College seniors recognized Henry Balfanz, Janie Diels and Scott Hill with Outstanding Faculty Awards. The recipients are chosen by a vote of the senior class, with one recognized in each of the college’s academic divisions.

Balfanz, assistant professor of business administration, was the recipient for the social sciences division.

Diels, associate professor for communication/new media studies, was the recipient for the humanities division.

Hill, professor of chemistry, was the recipient for the natural science division.

Story published on April 23, 2018