National Model UN Winning Streak Extends to 22 Years

Alma College has won an all-time 42 “outstanding delegation” awards — more than any other college or university in the history of the conference.

Model UN delegates vote on a resolution. Model UN delegates vote on a resolution.
For the 22nd consecutive year, Alma College students captured the highest awards at the National Model United Nations Conference in New York City.

Competing March 25-28, Alma College teams represented three countries— Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia and Sudan — two of which received “outstanding delegation” recognition, the highest award at the conference, and the third “distinguished delegation” distinction.

Alma College has now won 42 “outstanding delegation” awards — more than any college or university in the more than 90-year history of the conference.

“This was an iconic performance,” says Derick Hulme, Alma’s Model UN faculty advisor. “The students delivered one of the finest performances in our 25-year history of competing at the national Model UN conference. They did a great job.”

Alma’s program has grown from 11 students when it first began competing 25 years ago to nearly 50 students now, says Hulme.

Model UN delegates vote on a resolution. Model UN delegates vote on a resolution.“We have developed a remarkable reservoir of experience and talent,” he says. “Our younger students have the advantage of being able to observe and learn from the experience and ability of our older students. It’s an ideal learning situation; they learn from each other. And that’s easier to do when you have 50 students rather than 11 students. That’s been one of the greatest benefits of the growth of our program.”

The national conference in New York is the largest and most prestigious collegiate Model UN competition in the world, with more than 5,500 students representing 250 colleges and universities from 151 countries on five continents.

Model UN simulates actual UN bodies addressing the most diverse range of current international issues. Teams of college students take on identities of countries, and delegates from each country meet in committee to propose, discuss and debate topics. Once resolutions are completed in committee, they are presented to the Model UN replication of the UN General Assembly to be further debated before the assembly votes on resolutions.

Representing Antigua and Barbuda:
Laney Alvarado, Bath sophomore
Rebecka Bale, Carleton senior
*Anna Eaton, Alma junior
*Atulya Dora-Laskey, Lansing first-year student
*Nathaniel Fryer, Wyoming junior
*Destiny Herbers, Roscommon first-year student
Rachel Hill, Midland senior
Anna Kildisheva, international student
Connor Mayer, Traverse City junior
*Keara Parker, Hudsonville senior
*Bennett Schmitt, Frankfort junior
*Tanvi Sharma, Saginaw sophomore
*Grace Smith, Frankenmuth first-year student
*Madison Swope, Jackson sophomore
*Irina Vetchinkina, international student
*Claudia Walter, Howell sophomore
Blaze Wilson, Temperance first-year student
*Jaycee Wise, Grand Haven junior

Representing Sudan:
*Madison Amlotte, Alpena sophomore
*Austin Barajas, Holland sophomore
*Paige Bartkowiak, Dexter senior
*Cassidy Beach, Pinckney first-year student
Hannah Chrome, Mason first-year student
*Tylor Cole, Spring Lake senior
*Victoria Coykendall, Williamston senior
Rose Cyburt, St. Clair Shores sophomore
*Seth Davis, Shepherd senior
*Alexandra Dudock, Davison first-year student
Montgomery Finch, Williamsburg sophomore
*Megan Finkbeiner, Hamburg junior
Bridget Flanery, Sparta sophomore
*Sabrina Gambill, AmeriCorps VISTA
*Jadon House, Brighton sophomore
*Kennedy MacGirr, Frankfort junior
*Molly McFadden, New Carlisle, Ind., sophomore
Sam Nelson, Grand Haven first-year student
Brittany Pierce, Leslie first-year student
Maria Ruedisueli, Marshall first-year student
*Caroline Smerdon, Livonia sophomore
Hannah Tardiff, Plymouth junior
Monika Tomica, Newberry sophomore
Beau Wilcox, Gaylord senior

Representing Armenia:
*Max Carey, Highland first-year student
Marina Evstifeeva, international student
Jacob Isom, Howell first-year student
Daniel Lynch, Caledonia sophomore

*Students who received “outstanding individual” and “outstanding written submission” recognition

Story published on March 30, 2018