Seniors Earn Academic, Service, Leadership Awards

Several students received honors for academic and campus leadership achievement at Alma College’s 2017 senior dinner.

<em>Nicholas Mangutz</em> Nicholas MangutzOutstanding Senior Leadership and Service Award

Nicholas Mangutz of Mio and Annamarie Williams of Midland received the 2017 Outstanding Senior Leadership and Service Award.

Mangutz was recognized for his service with the Alma Police Athletic League and providing opportunities for children. Williams was honored for her efforts to promote artistic expression with the Alma Community Art Center.

Students are nominated for the award by students, faculty and staff, and a committee selects the finalists and award winners.

In addition, the Kappa Pi Honorary art fraternity was recognized for making art projects accessible to residents at Masonic Pathways and to local Girls Scouts.

<em>Annamarie Williams</em> Annamarie WilliamsPresidential Honors Program Recipients

The following students received honors designation for successfully completing all requirements of the Presidential Honors Program:

  • Nicholas Arnold of Reese
  • Hope Ayers of Marysville
  • Jessica Bigelow of Perry
  • Taylor Card of Shelby Township
  • Mairi Clow of Shelby Township
  • Emily Danks of Cheboygan
  • Kilee DeBrabander of Marshall
  • Abigail Fergus of Holland
  • Heidi Michael of Oak Park
  • Sarah Neeley of Montrose
  • Marissa Nivison of Midland
  • Morgan Pell of East Sandwich, Mass.
  • Baily Sopjes of Dorr
  • Annamarie Williams of Midland

<em>Kaitlyn Arnold</em> Kaitlyn Arnold

Outstanding Senior Award

Kaitlyn Arnold of Jackson received the Outstanding Senior Award, given annually to the graduating senior with the highest grade point average.

Faculty Receive Recognition at Honors Day

Alma College seniors recognized Murray Borrello, Will Nichols and Daniel Wasserman with Outstanding Faculty Awards. The recipients are chosen by a vote of the senior class, with one recognized in each of the college’s academic divisions.

Borrello, program coordinator for environmental studies, was the recipient for the natural sciences division. Nichols, professor of music, was the recipient for the humanities division. Wasserman, assistant professor of history, was the recipient for the social sciences division.

Story published on April 24, 2017