Percussion Ensemble Soars with ‘Angels of the Apocalypse’

Spring concert follows the group’s 12th appearance at the prestigious Notre Dame Collegiate Jazz Festival.

<em>Alma College Percussion Ensemble</em> Alma College Percussion EnsembleThe Alma College Percussion Ensemble will perform a diverse program of chart-topping songs in its annual spring concert.

The performance will begin at 8 p.m. Thursday, April 13, in the Remick Heritage Center.

Tickets are $10 for adults, $5 for seniors 62 and up, and free for Alma College staff, students and youth 18 and under. Seating is reserved. Call (989) 463-7304 for ticket information.

The program will include “Apotheosis” by Alan Keown, “Angels of the Apocalypse” by David Gillingham, “Denkyem” by Joe W. Moore III and “Alloy” by Andy Akiho.

The ensemble also will perform “Enter Sandman” by Metallica, “My Hero” by Foo Fighters, “Always and Forever” by Pat Metheny, “Mr. Hurley” by Tracy Thornton, “The Rotten Kid” by Buddy Greco, and “Immigrant Song” by Led Zepplin.

In February the ensemble made its 12th appearance at the prestigious Notre Dame Collegiate Jazz Festival. Throughout the years the ensemble has traveled across the nation to several other festivals and concerts in locations such as Cincinnati, Chicago and Orlando.

The Alma College Percussion Ensemble is directed by founder David Zerbe. Assisting him this year is percussion intern David Fair.

Student performers include:

  • Drew Belanger, Holland junior
  • Molly Bosek, Roseville sophomore
  • Jordan Campbell, Alma first-year student
  • Anna Dobyns , Mcbrides first-year student
  • Shanley Dorn, Lewiston senior
  • Jeremy Fieber, Lake Orion sophomore
  • Brianna Fitzpatrick, Onaway junior
  • Catherine Foreman, Adrian senior
  • James Gaddy, Southfield junior
  • Brianne Giddis, Traverse City first-year student
  • Dane Grimes, Adrian first-year student
  • Jacob Holt, Howell first-year student
  • Aubree Hooper, Farwell sophomore
  • Sara Jacobs, Grand Haven junior
  • Jill Kemper, Shelbyville senior
  • Aaron Krause, Kentwood senior
  • Rachel Nemeth, Perry senior
  • Logan St. John, Lake sophomore
  • Zavien Stickler, Essexville sophomore
  • Mollie Strunk, Rockford first-year student
  • Ivy Vanpoppelen, Dryden first-year student
Story published on April 10, 2017