National Model UN Winning Streak Extends to 21 Years

Alma College has won an all-time 40 “outstanding delegation” awards — the most of any college or university in the 96-year history of the conference.

<em>The Alma College Model UN Team.</em> The Alma College Model UN Team.

For the 21st consecutive year, Alma College students captured the highest awards at the National Model United Nations Conference in New York City.

Competing March 19-23, the Alma College teams representing the countries of Morocco and Uruguay received “outstanding delegation” recognition, the highest award at the conference.

Alma College has won an all-time 40 “outstanding delegation” awards — the most of any college or university in the 90-year history of the conference.

“This was a historic performance, one of the top three performances in the history of our team,” says Derick Hulme, Alma’s Model UN faculty advisor. “Our veteran students competed spectacularly, and our first-time students also performed remarkably. The conference could not have gone any better.”

The national conference in New York is the largest and most prestigious collegiate Model UN competition in the world, with more than 5,500 students representing 250 colleges and universities from five continents.

Model UN simulates actual UN bodies addressing the most diverse range of current international issues. Teams of college students take on identities of countries, and delegates from each country meet in committee to propose, discuss and debate topics. Once resolutions are completed in committee, they are presented to the Model UN replication of the UN General Assembly to be further debated before the assembly votes on resolutions.

Representing the Morocco delegation:

  • Madison Amlotte, Alpena first-year student
  • Rebecka Bale, Carleton junior
  • Austin Barajas, Holland first-year student
  • Paige Bartkowiak, Dexter junior
  • Morgan Bradford, Grand Rapids first-year student
  • Tylor Cole, Spring Lake junior
  • Shane Cooper, Parma senior
  • Rose Cyburt, St. Clair Shores first-year student
  • Jessica Drife, Garden City senior
  • Anna Eaton, Edwardsburg sophomore
  • Megan Finkbeiner, Hamburg sophomore
  • Nathaniel Fryer, Wyoming sophomore
  • Tyler Goerge, Schoolcraft senior
  • Connor Mayer, Interlochen sophomore
  • Keara Parker, Hudsonville junior
  • Bennett Schmitt, Frankfort sophomore
  • Caroline Smerdon, Livonia first-year student
  • Marianna Smith, Ludington senior
  • Madison Swope, Jackson first-year student
  • Hannah Tardiff, Plymouth sophomore
  • Monika Tomica, Newberry first-year student

Representing the Uruguay delegation:

  • Laney Alvarado, Bath first-year student
  • Karina Ankrom, Bloomfield Hills sophomore
  • Nick Arnold, Reese senior
  • Tory Coykendall, Williamston senior
  • Seth Davis, Greenville junior
  • Bridget Flanery, Sparta first-year student
  • Cloe Forray-Molica, Buchanan first-year student
  • Sabrina Gambill, Portland senior
  • Rachel Hill, Midland junior
  • Jadon House, Brighton first-year student
  • Megan Isom, Howell senior
  • Amanda Nouhan, Waterford junior
  • Grace Sutherland, Waterford senior
  • Claudia Walter, Howell first-year student
  • Beau Wilcox, Gaylord junior
  • Jaycee Wise, Grand Haven sophomore
Story published on March 27, 2017