Elementary Education

Cody Nevins

Class of

2014

My hometown is

Ithaca, Mich.

My major(s):

Elementary Education

My minor(s)

Early Childhood Education

I'm involved in:

Kappa Delta Pi (Education Honorary), Education Club, Forgotten Children of Eastern Europe (FCEE), and Alternative Breaks

After I graduate I plan to

find a teaching position in the central Michigan area!

My favorite place on campus is

Hanging out in my hall with my residents!

Some of my favorite professors include

Dr. Thelen, Dr. Findley, Dr. Seals, Dr. Store, and Dr. Fobes

So far, my favorite class(es) has/have been

General Linguistics (ENG 225), Sociology of the Family (SOA 220), Elementary methods classes (EDC 360, 361, 362, and 363)

My greatest accomplishment at Alma is

Graduating with an elementary teaching degree in 3.5 years! 

I'd advise an Alma freshman to

focus on getting acclimated and enjoy your first-year experience. I usually encourage my residents to limit themselves to being involved in one other organization/sport/activity their first semester and joining more on-campus organizations from there if they would like to.  

I'd tell a student considering coming to Alma

When considering Alma, it is important to look at its current students’ experiences and outcomes. 

What I like most about studying at Alma is

the support and attention my professors give me. They’re always there when a student is in need of any kind of support.

My favorite part about living on campus is

being an RA and building a close community for my residents. 

I went to

Peru – During a Spring Term I went to Peru and experience the Peruvian culture. While I was in Cusco, I lived with a host family for a month and took Spanish classes and volunteered in a Peruvian Kindergarten classroom. Of course, while I was there I did plenty of traveling and got to experience a hike up Machu Picchu, living on Tequil Island, and visiting the Floating Islands on Lake Titicaca.

Ukraine – During the Summer of 2013 I traveled to L’Viv, Ukraine and volunteered in a family orphanage. During my time in Ukraine I had the opportunity to teach English to orphans at a Christian family orphanage camp in the Carpathian Mountains.