Model UN Team ‘Outstanding’ for 21st Straight Year

Alma College teams have received 40 out of the 97 “outstanding” awards given at the Midwest Regional since 1994. Alma advances to the national conference in New York City.

For the 21st consecutive year, Alma College received an “outstanding delegation” award at the Midwest Model United Nations Conference.

Competing Feb. 19-22 in St. Louis, Mo., Alma teams representing the countries of Egypt, Sierra Leone and Indonesia competed against 90 delegations and more than 700 students from colleges and universities throughout the Midwest. The team representing the country of Indonesia won the top award.

“This was a very young group, and the students did exceptionally well,” says Sandy Hulme, faculty coordinator of Model UN at Alma College. “We had 20 students compete at the regional, and 16 were first-time participants. Their performance bodes well for a positive outcome at the national conference.”

Alma College teams have received 40 out of the 97 “outstanding” awards given at the Midwest Regional since 1994.

Model UN attempts to replicate the real United Nations in a competitive manner. Teams of college students take on identities of countries, and delegates from each country meet in committee to propose, discuss and debate topics relevant to issues facing the world community. Once resolutions are completed in committee, they are presented to the Model UN replication of the UN general assembly to be further debated before the assembly votes on resolutions.

Alma advances to the National Model United Nations Conference March 30-April 3 in New York City. Alma has won top honors at the national conference for 17 consecutive years — the longest active winning streak in the nation.

Members of “outstanding delegation” team, representing Indonesia:

  • Earl Carr, Plymouth freshman
  • Katie Closner, Marquette senior
  • Maggie Peacock, Batavia, Ill., senior
  • Marianna Smith, Ludington sophomore
  • Danialle Stebbins, St. Johns freshman
  • Grace Sutherland, Waterford freshman

Students receiving “outstanding delegate” awards:

  • Nicholas Arnold, Reese sophomore
  • Lauren Jones, Brighton junior

Students receiving “honorable mention” delegate recognition:

  • Morgan Beeler, Fremont senior
  • Luke Condon, Colon junior
  • Roger Zahn, Plymouth sophomore


Story published on February 26, 2014